1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

1/2 Ton F-150 for plowing!

Discussion in 'Introduce Yourself to the Community' started by zach5187, Dec 16, 2007.

1. zach5187

zach5187 Junior Member

Hello everyone my name is Zach! I am 20 years old and live in Omaha Nebraska. I have been reading on this website for about I would say a year now! Everyone says that you want to use a 3/4 Ton or larger truck if you are wanting to plow anything more than residental! My problem is that i am a college student therefore money is tight. I was thinking of a rig set up consistingof a 04 or newer f-150 with a Hiniker 700 or the sport duty boss! In your opinion would this be sufficent enough to do residental accounts and small amounts of commercial? I will not be the young punk A** kid trying to be cool hitting a bank of snow at 40 mph trying to impress everyone!

2. zach5187

zach5187 Junior Member

I apoligize but another Question! What I dont understand is they recommend thes plows for S-10, Rangers, Exploders etc. IMO the f150 is more stout than mid size trucks, Is there a plow that i can use for a small amount of commercial and primary residential? That is heavier duty EX. Western Midweight?:confused:

3. StoneDevil

StoneDevil Senior Member

I here u Zack i have a 01 F150 4.6L with tow package. from what i have gathered from this site and its Pros is that the 150 will only handle light duty plows ( up too 500# ) from what i get from the manufactures websites.plus any ballast it may need if I were u i would visit http://service.bossplow.com/PlowSelection.aspx and click this link and us the setup guide for your truck

Last edited: Dec 16, 2007
  4. Dailylc

Dailylc Senior Member