1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

'05 f250 beefed up to 550...or more? help

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by fredhedd, Mar 26, 2005.

1. fredhedd

fredhedd Member

yesterday i bought an '05 f250. i was looking at getting a slightly bigger truck but i got a great deal on this one and a good friend of mine works at a spring shop so, he is going to beef up my suspension to accomodate my plowing equipment. i am new to plowing, but plowed all year this season. mainly supermarkets. i am buying a blizzard plow pre-season, this year. i am also looking at a large salter. it's the metal one, it may be stainless steel. i think sno way makes it. 8 ft. i also have a friend that deals with reading utility bodies. the pickup bed will be swapped for one sometime very soon. if my figures add up correctly:

appx. an additional
    500 lbs for the utility body
    900 - 1400 lbs for the plow, depending on the 810 or the 8611
    2200 lbs with the salter full
    500 lbs conservatively, if the toolboxes are left full, while plowing

i'm taking all advice here, guys.

right now the funds are here for the 8611, if i want it. it's a monster plow and i would like to have it. i could go either way. i don't want to get it if anything is innapropriate for my setup. my spring shop buddy assures me that he can do anything to the truck that i need done. i'm in no rush here and want to be sure i'm making the right decision. i will be doing mostly commercial lots, with the exception of all of my friends (who i'm finding out that i have more of now that i am going to own a plow, weird.) who are going to have their driveways plowed for free.

let me know what ya think. thnx in advance.

2. SkykingHD