1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

05 2500HD 6.0L 4L80e Transmission Overheating after this brutal Winter!

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by midnightrun7, Jun 2, 2014.

1. midnightrun7

midnightrun7 Junior Member
    from 12540

First I'd like to say hi...Newbie Here.

I have a 2005 Chevy Silverado 2500HD 6.0L 4X4 - 4L80e Tranny w/70,000 Miles
    Great Condition.

Never had a problem with this truck until this past winter, Brutal! I pulled an engine code P0894 (Component in Transmission Slipping). I dropped the pan and change the Transmission Filter and installed Dex VI about 6 quarts. Cleaned the filters in the valve body, change the TCC Solenoid that controls the Torque Converter and put it back together. It didn't help, the truck was still overheating with no load or towing and the Torque Converter wasn't locking up. It started getting hot when the weather got warmer and didn't have a problem while plowing this winter (Was very cold)

I took it to a mechanic and he installed a new Converter, I had lockup but was still getting too hot...over 250F just driving 5-6 miles or just idling in park.