1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

04 f350 calipers/brakes

Discussion in 'Ford Trucks' started by fincat, Dec 13, 2006.

1. fincat

fincat Junior Member

just wondering if anyone has had to replace front calipers and brakes on a f350 with 38,000 miles on it? The dealer gave me a price of $900.00 to do this work. I am no mechanic but that seems like a lot of mulla!
  2. starc

starc Senior Member

Not sure on the year of your F350. My 82 F350 costs me about $150 to do myself. Very simple job providing you know how to bleed the brakes once you get the new calipers installed. Just put new rotors and pads on mine, calipers where fine. Rotors and pads cost me under $100 and about 45 minutes of my time.
  3. LINY Rob

LINY Rob Senior Member

Ford does not make the caliper themselves, get good aftermarket ones from a real auto parts store and save yourself a ton of money.

$900 is crazy. I did calipers, pads, rotors, AND lines and it was not even half that.

I once bought rotors from my auto parts store and under a little bit of semi-adhesive goo was a FORD EMBLEM!

on a side note- 38k miles is just wrong to be needing that much brake work, I would check into it, maybe you only need pads.
  4. redneck farmer

redneck farmer Senior Member

I've got an 04 F-350 powerstroke with 28,000 miles on it and the brakes aren't even near ready for replacement. $900 sounds too high though even for a dealer. I just had my wife's 2002 Ford Escapes front pads and rotors replaced with them doing the work and it was only $400.
  5. B&B

B&B PlowSite Fanatic