1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

03 Silverado 2500 overheating

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by Bostonyj7, Jan 22, 2009.

1. Bostonyj7

Bostonyj7 Senior Member

I have the plow -rep package but still over heat. I thought the fan clutch in that package took care of that. Am I wrong?

I bought the replacement clutch fan from AZ and it kinda looks differant. Anyway. I cant get the old fan clutch off. It pulls the pully as well as the large nut. Im no novice at this like this, but I just cant get it off. The replacement parts is right hand threaded so Im assumin that lefty lucy.......................

Im a stay at home dad and get like 30 minutes at as time. Time to really figure this out is not really an option

2. Mike S

Mike S PlowSite.com Addict

Give the nut a good tap with a cold chisel! It will come right off without having any special tools. Ive done four of these this way. I think your right about lefty loosy! LOL!

3. Bostonyj7

Bostonyj7 Senior Member

I put a vice grips on the pully and tryed to turn the nut but it still wont move

4. Bostonyj7

Bostonyj7 Senior Member

are you saying give it a rap on the edge of the nut, to spin it off.

C-

5. Mike S

Mike S PlowSite.com Addict

Yes sir! Never failed for me.

6. ChevKid03

ChevKid03 Senior Member

I used a strap wrench on the pulley and it came off now problem. And I have the arm strength of a 4 year old school girl... :jester:

7. Bostonyj7

Bostonyj7 Senior Member

looks like its never fail me either.

Thanks
    C-

8. 4speed

4speed Member

I had the same problem. If you have an air hammer with a chisel you can use that to buzz it right off, if not use the cold chisel and hammer.

9. Q101ATFD