1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

02 2500hd reverse 480Le

Discussion in 'Chevy Trucks' started by mow4cash, Dec 9, 2009.

1. mow4cash

mow4cash Member

My 02 2500hd is slamming into reverse. If i put it into reverse and let it slowly drop into gear it works fine but when i don't go easy on it, it feels as if it slips and then slams. The transmission seems to work fine other than reverse. Checked the fluid and its way burnt so I know its only a matter of time. I have been milking the tranny for 2 years with this problem but its a pain having to take it extra easy plowing. Has anyone experienced this and found out what the problem is?

2. mkwl

mkwl 2000 Club Member

Ummm...sounds to me like you beat on your truck and are now wondering why you're having tranny troubles? My advice- STOP BEATING YOUR TRUCK! WHen you are plowing- STOP, then shift into reverse- DON'T shift while still moving or you're going to be asking for issues...

Change your fluid and be nice to your truck ussmileyflag

3. BigLou80

BigLou80 Senior Member

Sounds like you need to do a filter and fluid change in the transmission. When was the last one done ?

4. RBRONKEMA GHTFD

RBRONKEMA GHTFD 2000 Club Member

Complete stops! I learned the hard way one morning with my 02. I went into a snow bank and when I went to put it into reverse. Nothing. It was when we had gotten dumped on too. Bring it to the tranny shop now while you have down time and get it fixed. Then make COMPLETE STOPS!

Last edited: Dec 10, 2009
  5. mow4cash

mow4cash Member