1. Welcome to PlowSite. Notice a fresh look and new features? It’s now easier to share photos and videos, find popular topics fast, and enjoy expanded user profiles. If you have any questions, click HELP at the top or bottom of any page, or send an email to help@plowsite.com. We welcome your feedback.

Dismiss Notice

01 Silverado 1500 - Bumper Cut ?

Discussion in 'Fisher Engineering Discussion' started by CRU1966, Nov 17, 2011.

1. CRU1966

CRU1966 Junior Member
    from Midwest

I'm a newbie here and have a question about installation. I have a 2001 Chevy Silverado 1500 Ext. Cab 4x4 with 5.3 engine. I just bought a Fisher HT plow from a dealer and after I got home with the plow, I noticed they cut the lower valance (bumper) where the tow hooks were for the mounting bracket. I'm a little pissed since they didn't tell me they were going to cut my bumper plus where are my tow hooks now? Had I known, I would've told them to just leave the valance off instead of cutting it. Now the valance flops around where they cut it.

Is there a way for them to install the mount without cutting my bumper - like below the bumper? Shouldn't they have told me before they cut it? Anyone who has a Silverado, can you post some pictures of your truck showing the mount/bumper - I'm curious to see other installations.

2. Yup...it sucks but there's no way around it. Every one of us GM owners had to do it.
  3. LON

LON Senior Member

4. clc2007

clc2007 Member

Lost my hooks and had to trim my valance on my 2000 gmc 2500 but i cut it so it fit tight on the mout and i have a curtis. Its the only way they can be mounted. But if done right it still looks good
  5. chevyzrule810

chevyzrule810 PlowSite.com Addict