Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 12-05-2009, 03:36 PM

Making brine/liquid deicer

What type of salt are you using when making your own brine? I'm just getting into this and as of now I only have a few small accounts. I don't know anyone in the area selling brine so I thought I'd make it myself if possible. I know we use to fill our tractor tires with brine we made using Calcium Choride. Any help would be appreiciated...Thank...Tom
Old 12-05-2009, 06:52 PM
PlowSite.com Addict

Because most of the bulk salt has so many impurities, I use bagged Solar Salt . 2.3 pounds per gallon. This year I have a new setup which I'm going to try tomorrow. The first batch will be made using bagged solar salt. The second batch will be made from the new state certified bulk salt I purchased last week. In appearance in looks clean, so I'm going to try it. It would be a lot less expensive if the bulk works out. I make about 350 gallons per batch.
Old 12-05-2009, 07:13 PM
PlowSite.com Addict

Solar salt thats some clean salt thats a good idea. I use bulk and it works good but there is dirt in that stuff.
Plows, Pushers, Buckets, Brooms, Kage Plows, Salt Spreaders, Shovels, and a SS Snow Blower

Take It To The Curb
Old 12-05-2009, 07:20 PM
PlowSite.com Addict

I think the bags says its like 99.8 or 98.9 % pure? Compared to most bulk salt which I think I seen a number like 90-92 % . That can be a lot of dirt ,sand or ? When I make my brine using solar salt there is very little filtering needed to use in my sprayer.
Old 12-06-2009, 09:16 AM

Isn't solar salt Sodium Choloride? Wouldn't you want to use Calcium Chlorie?
Old 12-06-2009, 09:43 AM
PlowSite.com Addict