Register free!
Search

Click for Weather
Old 02-08-2009, 11:32 AM
PlowSite.com Addict

lawn tractor w/snowblower advice

this is my first year plowing my own drive and it just isnt working. the lawn is getting torn up with some pretty impressive ruts due to a limited places to put snow and the need to push the snow way back.
the previous 3 years i snowblowed it but just dont have the time, with a 22" blower it just takes way to long with alot of drive and sidewalks (3ft wide) to do. this year i started doing 3 neighbors drives as well.
anyway, i am thinking of getting a lawn tractor with a front blower but i have no experiece with the use and preformance of one. i just want to make sure that the blower would be able to handle the windrow left by the city plows. i live on a corner and have to deal with the 2-3ft pile while clearing the walks.
what has been everyones experiences and is thier any specific models to avoid?
so far i have been looked at john deere and kubota, used of course and a couple of years old. i dont need a mower deck since i already have a zero turn mower.
Old 02-08-2009, 03:41 PM

I have a Deere 445 with a 47" two stage blower. It'll move the piles from the city plows and put the snow exactly where you want it with the hydraulic chute control, all without tearing up your lawn. The down side is you're out in the cold and depending how long the drive is it'll take longer than plowing. I haven't used mine in two years but I will when we get a big snow again. The last two years we've gotten more 3" slush events than snow and a blade works better for that.
Old 02-08-2009, 05:11 PM

Two good choices.
But Why??
You have a sweet set up to plow.
Hours spent blowing multiply times versus
a few hours lawn repair in nicer weather.
" Bringing The Shop To You"
Just north of the Lake Ontario Snow Belt
Old 02-08-2009, 06:55 PM
PlowSite.com Addict