Register free!
Search

Click for Weather
Old 02-12-2007, 05:40 PM

Fisher Plow Fluid Change/fill

I need some direction on how to change my fluid in my plow, and how to tell when it is full.

Also, where the fill and drain is. I am new to fisher plows, and plowing in general.

Thank you
Old 02-12-2007, 05:43 PM
2000 Club Member

What style of Fisher do you have? Cable operated? Solenoid operated? Insta act? Make's a differece in the fluid change procedure.Let us know and someone here will be able to help. BTW Welcome!
Old 02-12-2007, 05:52 PM

Well, its a MM2, 9' on a 1997 Chevy 3500 dually, that is all i know, It supposedly came with the truck from the dealer if that helps.
Old 02-12-2007, 06:48 PM
2000 Club Member

being this close to a nasty storm, and not being familiar with it, i wouldn't touch it until after this storm is over as long as changing the fluid isn't a life or death situation for the plow. Is this your truck or a friends? MM2 is A LOT newer than 1997, so if you mean dealer as in when the truck was new, then you were lied to!!
Old 02-12-2007, 06:57 PM

Well, it has the plow attached to the frame, and the lights, i thought that was MM2, I might be wrong, all stickers are gone/painted over (by me) ... When I take the plow off the truck, the lights and frame come with it. I thought that was MM2.

The 4-5 times I used it this year I had no problems, so you are right, if its not broke, don't go fixing it a day before a storm .. so how do I find out what model of plow I have? The reason I want to make sure it is full of fluid is because my lift piston leaks (VERY LITLE) it doesn't drop at all on its own, but a few drops do end up c oming out of the top ring.
Old 02-12-2007, 06:59 PM
2000 Club Member

the trianglular shaped piece that the top of the lift chain attaches to, is the top of it flat, or does it have somewhat of a rounding off to it? also, do you have to engage each pin seperatly or is there one lever to activate both pins simultaneously?