Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 03-21-2013, 02:48 PM

Wing plow on f350?

I have been plowing for several years now with my 2001 F350. Last year I updated plows to a western mvp. Love it. This year I bought an aluminum flat bed for it to get rid of the deteriorating box. After a year with record snowfall, I am looking to add a side wing. I plow many country drives that are very long, some large parking lots, and next year I hope to add a subdivision with 1.5 miles of roads. Give me some feedback both positive and negative about this. Forget to mention that I have a vbox sander that I built myself on the truck. I have looked at JJAG wing and Cox Machine wings. Considering building one or buying one. Thanks
Old 03-21-2013, 05:03 PM
PlowSite.com Addict

I have done lots of research. This summer, I will be driving to Maine to have a Cox setup put on my dumptruck.
Old 03-21-2013, 05:07 PM

I Have emailed Cox and got a price from them. I am concerned that the wing will hit my mirror or interfere with visibility when it is up. I have not seen a picture of it in the transport position. Are you concerned will the added stress to the front end? What size truck are you putting it on?
Old 03-22-2013, 03:05 PM
PlowSite.com Addict

I have a Tenco wing/plow/all season body setup on a F550 and have no problems with the mirror.

I am putting it on a F350 7.3 6spd 4x4 cab and chassis. Tenco won't sell one because its a 350 The thing is that the frame on the cab and chassis is exactly the same as a 550, I have compared them. I have added 550 springs to the 350 just not swapped the axles. It should hold it fine. The Cox setup is very much like the Tenco. Of course there is added wear but it is making money.

I should say that I continue to loo for a used Tenco (or other) setup I could mount myself. but if nothing by the summer I will go with the Cox.
Old 03-22-2013, 03:38 PM