Register free!
Search

Click for Weather
Old 10-28-2011, 08:48 PM

won't go up

Ok so i look at the post on here to try to better prepare myself if something should happen to my plow that needs to be fixed and i think i know what the answer is but want a second opinion.
I have a Western unimount. I have been lowing with it for three years. It is in no way new, just new to me alittle still.
The plow will go left and right and down with no problem. The problem is going up. When I press the up lever the motor works and the piston will jerk and put tension on the chain but will not lift the plow. If i jack up the plow or take the chain off the piston will go up. It holds the plow up just fine without losing pressure.
I have changed the fluid and filter. Pushed the plow left and right while off the ground to bleed the lines and lifted and lowered the piston.
I don't have a pressure tester to test how much pressure is going to the lines. I think that that is the answer that you guys were going to say. Or to check the seals on the piston.
now when the piston is up it is hard to lower the piston by pushing on it. I have to jump on the thing to get it down and I weigh 200 lbs.
There are no leaks in the system at all.
Any help will be appreciated we are forcasted to get a northeaster in the northeast tomorrow. Nothing like waiting to the last min right.
thank you for your help.
Old 10-28-2011, 09:16 PM

I have been looking over the posts again and thein that it may be a bad pump. I think the motor is fine because it still works. Is there a chance that the motor would not put out enough power to turn the pump enough?
Old 10-28-2011, 09:30 PM
PlowSite.com Addict