Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 12-28-2010, 09:32 PM

Western Plow Lights (Relay) Problems

Hi I am a newbie to this site and what a site, vast amount of knowledge here and I am glad I found this site.

I have a 99 Dodge 2500 4x4 that I just bought 2 weeks ago, in my 40 plus years this is my first Dodge but anyway, I have been pulling my hair out what little is left the past 2 weeks trying to figure out this wiring problem.

I have downloaded every manual off the western site and still cannot figure this out. I have the 9 pin 5 relay setup and have checked the schematic time after time and looked at the wiring and everything is wired correctly to western's wiring schematic, I have double and tripled checked it each day and cannot figure where the problem is.

With the truck shut off and the lights off, my plow lights are on constantly, when I turn the lights to parking lights everything is fine, when I turn my headlights on my plow lights come on and my headlights stay on, it seems to me I have a constant power source to a relay when all my lights are off and the plow lights stay on but what could it be??

Also I thought with this relay system when you turn on the plow lights your headlights are suppose to go out and vise versa right? Any help would be much appreciated..

I am going bald....LOL

Early Happy New Year!
Regards,
Kev
Old 12-30-2010, 07:00 PM

When you bought the Dodge, did it come with the Western Plow?

ProSeasons
Seasons change. Great service doesn't.

550 horse 01' Dodge twin turbo diesel. 11 foot Boss Vee (9' 2" with Pro Wings) Snoman pull plow. TrynEx Spreader.
Jonesing for an Ebling...
Old 12-30-2010, 08:22 PM