Register free!
Search

Click for Weather

Old 12-14-2010, 10:34 AM

Can you put a plow on 88 F-350 Diesel 2 Wheel Drive Dump

Every plow manufacture site I go to says Ford does not recommend putting a plow on this vehicle? It is a 1988 Ford F-350 Diesel 2 wheel drive 5 speed dump body. Does anyone know if this is possible and what model plow would work? I was just going to use it as back-up plow truck when the other trucks are down. Thank you for your help.
Old 12-14-2010, 12:24 PM

wait, the plow sites you go to say that FORD doesn't recommend it? that's a little weird.
I'm not an expert on this, but I believe you can still put a blade on that truck, you may not get as great traction as you would if it were a 4x4 dually, but that doesn't mean you can't still try.
I've seen the most insane vehicles around CNY with plows on them, everything from MINIVANS and 2WD S10's/Jeeps. Seriously what are you going to plow with a 2WD S10?

Anyway, I'd say you'd be able to put a plow on that truck, and still be able to plow with it some what well.
Old 12-14-2010, 12:28 PM

I think the question is why would you want to put a plow on that truck?

Plows are a lot of money. Why wouldn't you want to attach it to a more efficient truck so you can make your money back quicker?
Old 12-14-2010, 12:29 PM
2000 Club Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mnglocker View Post
I think the question is why would you want to put a plow on that truck?

Plows are a lot of money. Why wouldn't you want to attach it to a more efficient truck so you can make your money back quicker?
What is wrong with the truck?
Old 12-14-2010, 12:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cretebaby View Post
What is wrong with the truck?
>DRW trucks have less ground pressure on the rear wheels, hence less traction,

>Manual trucks are fine for really long runs where you'll never need to shift, otherwise you'll burn the crap out the clutch. Let's not forget shifting a stick while running plow controls are a skill set of their own.