Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
  #1  
Old 09-30-2010, 06:35 PM
bradman0087 bradman0087 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 51
snow bear back up winch

I am wondering can i use a cheaper winch from like harbor freight as a back up if needed to in a pinch instead of waiting to get one from superwinch in case of a break down this winter?
  #2  
Old 10-01-2010, 02:56 PM
ranger88den ranger88den is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 104
Some have modified the #92860. I'm currently trying to modifiy the 2000# winch w/wireless remote. Do a search in this forum.

EDIT: found this
http://www.plowsite.com/showthread.p...ighlight=92860

Last edited by ranger88den; 10-01-2010 at 02:58 PM. Reason: found link
  #3  
Old 10-13-2010, 08:09 AM
ranger88den ranger88den is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 104
My HF retrofit

Harbor Freight 3000# remote control winch retrofit (see photos):
Remove the winch hook from the cable.
Remove fairlead bracket and rotate 90*.
Measure 2 ¼” to hole centerline from the edge opposite the fairlead.
From the fairlead adjacent edge, measure 2”, 5 1/16”, and 6 3/8” to hole centerlines.
Drill the 2” and 6 3/8” holes large enough to accommodate the 3/8” diameter Snowbear winch mounting bolts.
Drill the intermediate hole large enough to accept the Harbor Freight flathead screw (removed from fairlead bracket) then countersink the backside of this hole (reuse flathead screw).
The winch mounting hole that doesn’t use the the flathead screw will have to be enlarged to accept the 3/8” diameter Snowbear mounting bolt.

NOTE: In the dimension drawing the bracket is rotated 180*. Please double check all dimensions and check against your Snowbear mount spacing and your winch mount hole spacing.

see next post for more photos
Attached Images
         
  #4  
Old 10-13-2010, 08:14 AM
ranger88den ranger88den is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 104
Hope this helps.
Attached Images
     
  #5  
Old 10-13-2010, 09:23 AM
ranger88den ranger88den is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 104
Wiring connectors

If you need to replace the Snowbear wiring quick connects, these trailer connectors work in a pinch. 10 ga & 12 ga shown. I purchased the 10 ga online and the 12 ga at an RV dealer.
Attached Images
 
  #6  
Old 10-22-2010, 09:49 PM
1PapaDock4's Avatar
1PapaDock4 1PapaDock4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 32
thats the winch that I bought... any issues with it?
  #7  
Old 10-23-2010, 12:37 PM
ranger88den ranger88den is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1PapaDock4 View Post
thats the winch that I bought... any issues with it?
No issues. I bought it as a back up, so other than setting it up, and checking operation, it hasn't been used for any duration. Time will tell. I did buy the warranty.
  #8  
Old 10-23-2010, 03:18 PM
1PapaDock4's Avatar
1PapaDock4 1PapaDock4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 32
I'm a little indifferent about the cable.. I kind of want to take the chain that was off a malfunctioning superwinch. Decisions decisions..
  #9  
Old 01-14-2011, 06:54 AM
tar1827 tar1827 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Thank You!

Thanks ranger88den for the excellent posts regarding your mods to the HF winch. My 9 yr old snow bear winch quit on my during a snow storm last month. I got a sweet deal at an HF store for this same winch ($49.99 after coupon) and after following your instructions, I had it installed and running quickly. The delay was annoying, but I liked no longer having the big wire and switch controls from the original.

Unfortunately, for the next several weeks, the winch would not work consistently. My initial thought was water in the control box, but even when dry it was flaky--sometimes not responding to the remote. I finally got so frustrated that I removed the control box altogether and I attached the power leads directly to the winch motor. I put the old controls back in the loop and, presto, everything worked great...consistently and with no delay.

I am truly thankful to have found this thread and just want to pass along my appreciation and my experience for others. If you use this mod and the delay irritates you, or the controls don't always respond, dump the control box and remote.

Last edited by tar1827; 01-14-2011 at 06:58 AM.
  #10  
Old 01-14-2011, 07:40 AM
ranger88den ranger88den is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 104
tar,
You're welcome. Good tip regarding remote control bypass.
  #11  
Old 01-15-2011, 09:07 PM
1PapaDock4's Avatar
1PapaDock4 1PapaDock4 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 32
just bought the CE 3000lb wireless winch the other day to see it would run faster than my CE 2000lb winch...
Unfortunately it hardly moved the plow up and down.. Very irritating.. I removed the control box and used my original wiring used with the 2000lb winch *same size wires* and it barely moved.. Maybe I found a dud.
  #12  
Old 01-25-2011, 06:54 PM
tar1827 tar1827 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 2
Well, I burned up the motor on this HF winch, I guess. They gave me a free replacement, but it's a pain swapping everything that I modified from the burned up one to the new one--HF people were really helpful about that, though, which was nice. I really think that I hosed it by having too much slack with the cable when dropping the blade and then binding it when lifting the blade. I'm not sure about that, but it's feasible since the cable was beat up. I really hate having all that cable to move the blade up and down such a short distance. I just don't know how to make a chain go onto this winch. Any ideas?
  #13  
Old 01-26-2011, 05:40 AM
ranger88den ranger88den is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toledo, Ohio
Posts: 104
There may be something in this thread or a link within it helpful.
http://www.plowsite.com/showthread.php?t=116069
  #14  
Old 01-27-2011, 04:41 AM
champlainl champlainl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: upstate ny
Posts: 63
I use the 2000 lb hf winch, remove the cable completely, purchase a 3/8 u-bolt, use double nut plates,nylon lock nuts, piece of 3/8 chain and install on drum of winch. tighten u- bolt tight,cut off excesss threads on u-bolt,attach to plow and your good to go,mines beenon for 2 years and I have pushed tons of snow
  #15  
Old 02-11-2011, 08:44 AM
skidoo's Avatar
skidoo skidoo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: N.S Canada
Posts: 32
Try cutting your cable and only putting a couple feet or so on it. Just feed your cable through and tie knot. Won't bind up that way less chance of breakage. I tried champlainl method with chain and ubolt, never had the sucess that he had with it. The u bolt would slip. Chain tore crap out of spool. I'm using a lt 2000 # superwinch seems to be fairly quick.
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 PlowSite.com™ Moose River Media
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.

Page generated in 0.04329 seconds with 8 queries