Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
  #1  
Old 01-23-2013, 01:41 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
not getting power to the factory tow plug. 05 f350

I went under the truck and uncliped the plug and used a light test on the individual receptacles. Nothing.

Lights on truck all work otherwise. Tried grounding the light on several spots, nothing.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-23-2013, 02:16 PM
shovelracer's Avatar
shovelracer shovelracer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sussex County, NJ
Posts: 526
Did your receptacle have power at one point? What does not have power, everything or 12V+ or what?
__________________
"I took the restrictor plate off. ...give the red dragon a little more juice. But uh, let's keep that on the downlow! It's not exactly street legal."
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-23-2013, 02:37 PM
kurtandshan's Avatar
kurtandshan kurtandshan is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Iron Mountain Michigan
Posts: 319
There is a fuse to the plug in the fuse box under the hood. Believe its a 10a check manual for sure though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-23-2013, 03:01 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by shovelracer View Post
Did your receptacle have power at one point? What does not have power, everything or 12V+ or what?
Yes it did. Everything is 12V. This piece of **** was working fine two weeks ago.

I don't believe there is a fuse box under my hood on the model year. So far, the only block I've found are relays.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2013, 03:16 PM
fordtruck661 fordtruck661 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducaticorse View Post
Yes it did. Everything is 12V. This piece of **** was working fine two weeks ago.

I don't believe there is a fuse box under my hood on the model year. So far, the only block I've found are relays.
You will have fuses for each connection it will ether be under the hood or under the dash. On my truck I think they are all 7.5 fuses Check your owners manual it will list everything.
__________________
2000 Ford F250 Powerstroke
Plow: 8' Fisher HD Minute Mount

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:05 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordtruck661 View Post
You will have fuses for each connection it will ether be under the hood or under the dash. On my truck I think they are all 7.5 fuses Check your owners manual it will list everything.
I have checked the manual, and rechecked the manual. The only fuses relating to the trailer lighting are run lights and back up lights and they test out with the light. According to the manual, there is no under hood fuse box, only a three place relay block.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:08 PM
kurtandshan's Avatar
kurtandshan kurtandshan is offline
Sponsor
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Iron Mountain Michigan
Posts: 319
I have an 07 and have one under the hood
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:14 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by kurtandshan View Post
I have an 07 and have one under the hood
my truck is actually an 04, not an 05. Not sure if that makes a difference. Maybe I do have a fuse block under the hood, I havent found it yet, and the manual mentions nothing of it either. Is it possible for you to snap a pic of yours and post it here please?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:15 PM
fordtruck661 fordtruck661 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 346
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducaticorse View Post
I have checked the manual, and rechecked the manual. The only fuses relating to the trailer lighting are run lights and back up lights and they test out with the light. According to the manual, there is no under hood fuse box, only a three place relay block.
D/R OP just said it in above post
__________________
2000 Ford F250 Powerstroke
Plow: 8' Fisher HD Minute Mount

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:51 PM
shovelracer's Avatar
shovelracer shovelracer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sussex County, NJ
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by ducaticorse View Post
Yes it did. Everything is 12V. This piece of **** was working fine two weeks ago..
Yes everything is 12v but I meant the 12v supply. I ask because there are a few circuits. It is all harnesses so get tracing back to the fuse panel. Wouldn't be the first time either if your receptacle was corroded and the terminals bridged each other. The park relay I believe is under the hood by firewall. The fuses are under the dash. It is unlikely that everything went at once. Most likely is the ground went or corrosion got ya.
__________________
"I took the restrictor plate off. ...give the red dragon a little more juice. But uh, let's keep that on the downlow! It's not exactly street legal."
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:58 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by shovelracer View Post
Yes everything is 12v but I meant the 12v supply. I ask because there are a few circuits. It is all harnesses so get tracing back to the fuse panel. Wouldn't be the first time either if your receptacle was corroded and the terminals bridged each other. The park relay I believe is under the hood by firewall. The fuses are under the dash. It is unlikely that everything went at once. Most likely is the ground went or corrosion got ya.
I have zero patience for tracing a bad ground or snapped/frayed wire. I will go buy a clip in 4 plug tomorrow and be done with it. I don't use trailer brakes anyway F this **** in this - 7 weather.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:00 PM
shovelracer's Avatar
shovelracer shovelracer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sussex County, NJ
Posts: 526
I'm confused you have power through the wires to connect a new 4 wire? 4 wires have a ground too.
__________________
"I took the restrictor plate off. ...give the red dragon a little more juice. But uh, let's keep that on the downlow! It's not exactly street legal."
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:04 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by shovelracer View Post
I'm confused you have power through the wires to connect a new 4 wire? 4 wires have a ground too.
On a simple clip in unit, the power is taken off of the tail lights. you splice directly into the tail lights.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:07 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
I only need brake/run/directional light
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:12 PM
shovelracer's Avatar
shovelracer shovelracer is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sussex County, NJ
Posts: 526
and a ground, could be cheaper to throw in a new ground wire first.
__________________
"I took the restrictor plate off. ...give the red dragon a little more juice. But uh, let's keep that on the downlow! It's not exactly street legal."
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:22 PM
ducaticorse ducaticorse is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: we
Posts: 1,425
Quote:
Originally Posted by shovelracer View Post
and a ground, could be cheaper to throw in a new ground wire first.
Looks like the ground is bolted to the frame right by the end of the connector. It does not appear to be in bad shape either. I will give it a shot, but I don't see that being the culprit.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:55 PM
Antlerart06 Antlerart06 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Missouri Top of State
Posts: 2,409
On my 02 F350 has a Power fuse that gives power to the brake,turn,tail lights fuse like a main fuse If it blows your trailer plug wont have power

Have you check the fuse panel make sure none is blown best way is with a test light
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump





Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 PlowSite.comô Moose River Media
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.

Page generated in 0.07144 seconds with 9 queries