Register free!
Search
 
     

Click for Weather
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2013, 07:25 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
old to new convertion

Hey guys i need a little help here i have an old Fisher Speed Caster plow "not Sander" i was wonding if i can us the new MM2 mount with it to bolt right on the plow came off my 88 chevy 1500 the craped the bed last year and wanted to put it on my 04 Avalanche and us it? any thing is a help thank you. also the Pump i already know has to change due to it use a pully hyro pump now in need of electrical pump.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-22-2013, 08:17 PM
Morrissey snow removal's Avatar
Morrissey snow removal Morrissey snow removal is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: lunenburg, ma
Posts: 1,800
so u want to put the insta act pump on the speed cast set up correct?
__________________
Ford Trucks
Fisher Plows
ice o way Sanders
Caterpillar Equipment
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2013, 09:39 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
that yes due to the old pump is ran off the motor and a pully system so yes
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2013, 09:42 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
but im wonding if i need to put a new A-frame on it as well
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-23-2013, 12:53 AM
RepoMan207's Avatar
RepoMan207 RepoMan207 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,948
ahhh, possibly. it depends on a few things. Do you already have the headgear for a MM2 with the pump?
__________________
Ryan
Hodge's Snow & Ice Management LLC
Windham, ME
PlowGuy.Net




Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-23-2013, 05:10 AM
Morrissey snow removal's Avatar
Morrissey snow removal Morrissey snow removal is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: lunenburg, ma
Posts: 1,800
yes u can 2 off my trcks are set up like that
Attached Images
 
__________________
Ford Trucks
Fisher Plows
ice o way Sanders
Caterpillar Equipment
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-23-2013, 09:34 AM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
i dont have the head gear for the MM2 but i do have the pump will the MM2 undercarige mount work with the old A-frame?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-23-2013, 09:59 AM
Morrissey snow removal's Avatar
Morrissey snow removal Morrissey snow removal is offline
PlowSite.com Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: lunenburg, ma
Posts: 1,800
the mm 2 mount with an old a frame yes just cut the piece off angle iron on the aframe off so it clears the jack and weld a new one on near the pin holes or leave it off
__________________
Ford Trucks
Fisher Plows
ice o way Sanders
Caterpillar Equipment
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-23-2013, 11:56 AM
RepoMan207's Avatar
RepoMan207 RepoMan207 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,948
Again...that all depends on some things. Morrissey's going off on a tangent over here with blinders on....

Lets backup for a second here...the question is; will a MM2 " undercarige" work with an old A frame...are you referring to push plates? I assume you are if you want to put it on an 04 Avalanche. In which case the answer would be no, it won't. You need the headgear to mount it all together. You can't just put the A Frame on push plates. Now..you can mount the older A frames on to certain MM1 & MM2 headgear's. That would depend on the measurements of the A frame that you have, and the headgear you want to use.
__________________
Ryan
Hodge's Snow & Ice Management LLC
Windham, ME
PlowGuy.Net




Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-23-2013, 01:00 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
can i just take the old plow just the blade and use all the new parts?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 01-23-2013, 01:01 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
i have all the parts for the plow the push plates and all head gear.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 01-23-2013, 01:02 PM
RepoMan207's Avatar
RepoMan207 RepoMan207 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,948
You can't use the old speedcast headgear with MM push plates...
__________________
Ryan
Hodge's Snow & Ice Management LLC
Windham, ME
PlowGuy.Net




Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01-23-2013, 01:15 PM
RepoMan207's Avatar
RepoMan207 RepoMan207 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,948
You need this....






The problem you're going to run into trying to put this all together is the headgear itself....you can buy a whole used setup for what most guys sell just the headgear for, and better yet, IF you can find just a headgear. Then there is always the problem of finding the RIGHT sized headgear to fit what you have for an A frame and blade. That's too many eggs in such a small basket. You can buy a brand spanking new headgear for around $1000 if you want and slap it all together. It would need to be a MM1 though.

If you need help determining what you need, or what will fit...let me know.
__________________
Ryan
Hodge's Snow & Ice Management LLC
Windham, ME
PlowGuy.Net




Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01-23-2013, 02:25 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
i have that i have the head gear but the problem im running to is the push plates dont fit my frame they fit my old 88 chevy frame
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 01-23-2013, 02:42 PM
RepoMan207's Avatar
RepoMan207 RepoMan207 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,948
Your beginning to confuse me. You have a headgear for a speedcast, not a Minute mount. They're entirely different. Push Plates are truck specific, and look like this for a MM1 & MM2....

__________________
Ryan
Hodge's Snow & Ice Management LLC
Windham, ME
PlowGuy.Net




Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 01-23-2013, 02:46 PM
RepoMan207's Avatar
RepoMan207 RepoMan207 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,948
If you in fact have an actual MM1 or MM2 headgear, and you just need the push plates for it, then you're looking at needing part 7168
__________________
Ryan
Hodge's Snow & Ice Management LLC
Windham, ME
PlowGuy.Net




Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:00 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
i dont have the new head gear i have the old head gear that came with the plow the lights stay with the truck which i dont want i want the set up of the MM1 or MM2
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:32 PM
RepoMan207's Avatar
RepoMan207 RepoMan207 is offline
2000 Club Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozzyr333 View Post
i dont have the new head gear i have the old head gear that came with the plow the lights stay with the truck which i dont want i want the set up of the MM1 or MM2
Exactly, you have a speedcast headgear, and you need a MM1 or MM2 headgear which is pictured within post 13:

Quote:
Originally Posted by RepoMan207 View Post
You need this....






The problem you're going to run into trying to put this all together is the headgear itself....you can buy a whole used setup for what most guys sell just the headgear for, and better yet, IF you can find just a headgear. Then there is always the problem of finding the RIGHT sized headgear to fit what you have for an A frame and blade. That's too many eggs in such a small basket. You can buy a brand spanking new headgear for around $1000 if you want and slap it all together. It would need to be a MM1 though.

If you need help determining what you need, or what will fit...let me know.
__________________
Ryan
Hodge's Snow & Ice Management LLC
Windham, ME
PlowGuy.Net




Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:35 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
so what do you think im looking at with the push plates and the new head gear to mount to my plow do you think the a frame has to change?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 01-23-2013, 04:37 PM
Ozzyr333's Avatar
Ozzyr333 Ozzyr333 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Newtown CT 06470 and Trumbull CT 06611
Posts: 32
and sorry if i confuse you haha.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2000 - 2012 PlowSite.comô Moose River Media
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11 PM.

Page generated in 0.03196 seconds with 10 queries