PDA

View Full Version : Will this MM1 setup work with a MM2 plow?


Antnee77
12-08-2005, 05:57 PM
My buddy has a 7 1/2' MM1 w/Insta-Act Hydraulics 3-Plug System on his 96 Tahoe and I just bought a like new 8' MM2 in Mass. Is there any way his Tahoe will just line right up to the 8' MM2 and connect with the existing 3-Plug setup in his truck? I need to get it home somehow so any help in this topic would be appreciated. Thanks!

Arc Burn
12-08-2005, 06:18 PM
Yes,it will fit like a glove,may be a bit heavy on the Tahoe but she will get her home.

Antnee77
12-08-2005, 07:06 PM
It will? That's great news! I know the 8 footer will be heavy for a Tahoe, but as long as I can get it home I'll be all set. Thanks!

alamarc
12-08-2005, 07:40 PM
Yeah the push plates will work ok--Bring a floor jack though for two reasons.

To help with the hookups of the pins as the height will be different for the two trucks. also. I read it quick but i dont' think that the electrical will hook up. if thats the case just jack the blade up and reattach the chain to hold the blade up

alamarc
12-08-2005, 07:41 PM
Just read it again forget what i said about the electrical

Antnee77
12-08-2005, 09:10 PM
Just read it again forget what i said about the electrical

Wait, so you think the electrical will hook up fine, considering the truck is set up for a 3 plug system and the MM2 blade is a 3 plug? I will bring a jack anyways just to make sure I can get it on, but hopefully I will be able to operate the hydraulics.

Arc Burn
12-08-2005, 10:44 PM
It will be completely functional,height may be different as mentioned,no big deal.

Antnee77
12-08-2005, 10:55 PM
Thanks again guys. I will definitely bring my jack along in the even that I'd need to raise the plow up to the truck. I should be all set to pick up my plow now. :drinkup:

1bohica
12-17-2005, 07:49 AM
I was told my the 'techies' at Metro Truck (a Fisher Dealer) that this was not possible, wirings controls were totally different

Antnee77
12-17-2005, 08:24 AM
I was told my the 'techies' at Metro Truck (a Fisher Dealer) that this was not possible, wirings controls were totally different

Well you can call them back and tell them they're wrong! I picked up the plow yesterday with absolutely no problems. Mounted right up, and plugged right in. The only problems were that the lift arm was badly dented when shipped to the location and the wiring harness was partly torn. They are replacing the broken parts free of charge.

BTW, the only MM1 that will hook up directly to a MM2 is the late model with Insta-Act Hydraulics, as this is the same hydraulic 3-Plug system used in a MM2.

Arc Burn
12-18-2005, 12:34 AM
MM1 and MM2 truck mounts are the same mount,it's the 2 plug vs 3 plug wiring system that will vary(Insta-Act vs SEHP)